Tuesday, January 8, 2008

The NHL Announces All-Star Game Starters

The fan votes have all been counted and the NHL has announced the starters for the upcoming All-Star Game in Atlanta. The starters are:

Eastern Conference

  • Sidney Crosby
  • Vincent Lecavalier
  • Daniel Alfredsson
  • Andrei Markov
  • Zdeno Chara
  • Martin Brodeur
Western Conference
  • Henrik Zetterberg
  • Pavel Datsyuk
  • Jarome Iginla
  • Nicklas Lidstrom
  • Dion Phaneuf
  • Roberto Luongo
All things considered these are actually pretty solid picks by the fans as all 12 players are definitely deserving of the trip to Atlanta. I would probably stick hometown boy Ilya Kovalchuk in instead of Alfredsson, but Ilya will make the team any way so it's not that big of a deal. At first I didn't think too highly of Markov being voted in, but it's not that much of a reach when you look at the numbers. Of course if Sergei Gonchar had been on the ballot (I'll never understand why he wasn't) then maybe things would have been different.

No comments: